…Stops With Me

Vintage Songbird Sings May 18, 2008


Photo by Sew Sara
Quilting is on my marvelous list of things to do in life. There is just something so lovely about matching and molding pieces of fabric to create a distinct work of art. It really is so magical.
They (not really sure who they are) speculate that quilting has been around for thousands of years. Way back to the 1100BCs in Egypt. Throughout history quilting has been used for practical purposes such and cushion inside heavy metal armor, European women were wearing quilted petticoats to ward off the harsh winter cold, blankets, wall hangings to prevent the cold from coming through the walls. So many ways to keep people warm, safe and comfortable.
And then there is the visual beauty. The art of matching colors and textures, shapes and sizes, magnificent!
Vintage Songbird has found a way to mix the two… Function and beauty. I have in my kitchen beautiful quilted wall hangings brightening up the room. But when the Haggen-Dazs enters the home I have a fantastic ice cream cozy to protect my hands from the harsh cold.
yum

 

5 Responses to “Vintage Songbird Sings”

  1. Merylu Says:

    Hello! =)
    This is a really beautiful place to stop by. I like colours, photos, everything here! I agree with you, I like the art of quilting, even if I don’t make it! As you said, in this kind of craft I love “The art of matching colors and textures, shapes and sizes, magnificent!”

    I wish you a great day!

    Merylu PetiteFraise

  2. beatblack Says:

    what a clever way to use quilting for something other than a blanket. im very impressed!

  3. claire Says:

    Gorgeous colours on your creations. The cup holders you make I haven’t seen so much in the Uk yet I love these!! Lovely photo on the front page too, it reminded me of french revolution colours and feel. claire in sunny Wales (for once :)
    Found you through Etsy yey for Etsy

  4. I love the barn picture. And the ice cream holders are great. I’ll have to check them out. I usually use a tea towel to hold on to my Ben & Jerry’s.

  5. what a great idea! i usually use potholders when i eat ice cream!!!


Leave a Reply

